Date of Birth: 3/11/98

Age: 16

Height: 173cm (5’9″)

Weight: 67kg

Residence: Cooma NSW

Club: Vikings Cycling Club

Racing Category: U19, Elite A

Coach: Rebecca Doolan

Rider Profile:

I am a 16 year old Australian cyclist with big dreams for the future.

I started cycling back in late 2011 when I was picked for a talent Identification program run by ACTAS in an effort to increase the numbers of junior cyclists in Canberra. After completing 6 months of the program I fell in love with the sport and now couldn’t see myself doing anything different.

Throughout my years of u17’s I found myself chasing a scholarship from ACTAS and the prized blue uniform. In mid 2014 I achieved that goal and managed to produce a qualification time quick enough to start being looked at.

After 4 years of riding I am currently racing in the u19 ranks and racing open graded events in Elite A.

I currently race for the Vikings Cycling Club and attend as many club activities as possible with my busy schedule

1.       Where do you live?

Cooma, NSW

2.       In your own words, describe your sport and what you love about it?

Cycling is really a sport that makes you hurt, and then when your hurting its about pushing yourself to and beyond your limits, to places others aren’t willing to push to. Things I love about cycling are the little things such as how friendly the community is and how intense the competition is, but the main thing I love is trying to better yourself on a daily basis.

3.       If you weren’t being an athlete, what would you be doing?

To be honest I don’t know what I’d be doing, probably working at a bike shop.

4.       The best part of being an athlete?

The best part of being an athlete is how much you get to travel.

5.       The worst or most challenging part of being an athlete?

The worst part about being an athlete is how much you have to travel.

6.       Name one thing most people would be surprised to know about you?

I  was home schooled from years 6 to 10.

7.       What is the best thing about living where you do?

The best thing about living where I do is that I am only an hour away from the snow and some pretty decent climbing for training.

8.       Your favorite overseas destination?

I’d love to go somewhere like Italy or Belgium

9.       Do you set a daily alarm?

After years of waking up at the same time I actually don’t need to set an alarm

10.   Coffee or tea?


11.   Favorite meal?

 Favorite meal would have to be rissoles

12.   What does a typical day in your life look like?

A typical day in the life of me looks like…
7am – Wake up, breakfast
8am – Training
11:00am – 2:00pm – TAFE

2:00pm – 3:30pm travel or recovery
3:30pm – Possibly second session (gym in Canberra)
6:00pm – Travel home
7:45pm – Dinner

13.   What do you want to achieve athletically in the next five years?

 In five years time I’d like to be at the 2020 Olympic games in Tokyo and be setting myself up for my Tour de France.

14.   What are your hobbies outside of Cycling?

My hobbies outside of cycling include: drawing, watching movies and Mountain Biking

15.   What advice would you give to someone who wants to be an athlete?

The advice would be to put the hard work in but also to know your body and when you need to recover.

16.   What would you like to be remembered for?

 I would like to be remembered for being a competitive athlete

at a world level.

17.   What is your pre-competition ritual if you have one? I don’t really have one.

18.   Which athlete inspires you the most?

Athletes such as Brad McGee have inspired me for a while now but on a more personal level than my riding.

19.   If you were an animal, which one would you be?

I would probably be something like a turtle.

20.   Favorite quote?

 Whoever you are, be a good one- Abraham Lincoln